The Reverend Margery Kennelly, Chaplain

Prior to serving as the Episcopal Chaplain at Harvard, the Reverend Margery Kennelly was the Assistant Rector at Church of the Redeemer Chestnut Hill, MA. She graduated magna cum laude from Harvard College in 1987, earned a Master of Divinity at Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary in 2010 and a Certificate of Anglican Studies from Episcopal Divinity School in 2011. Before going to seminary, Margery was a professional portrait painter. She is married to Harvard College classmate Richard Kennelly and has two adult children: Julia and Henry. Julia is co-founder of a production company in New York. Henry graduated from Harvard College in 2017 and works for Right to Dream Academy in Ghana. Margery is a big fan of word games that do not require ability to spell, as well as tennis and gardening.


Hal Edmonson, Kellogg Fellow

Hal recently completed his M.Div across the way at Harvard Divinity School, and is excited to be sticking around the Harvard community as the Kellogg Fellow for the 2018-2019 year.  After finishing his B.A. at Carleton College, Hal taught for five years in rural Japan with the JET Program (while managing a crisis hotline for ex-pats on the side), and spent most of a year living out of a backpack while exploring modern monastic communities in Europe. After putting pause on his travels to study at HDS, most of his work concerned theology and medicine, and in particular improving the way we have conversations about end-of-life decision-making. He is an avid runner, cribbage fiend, and unlike Margery cannot get enough of crosswords and spelling-dependent word games. He is a member at St. Paul’s Episcopal Church in Brookline, where he is discerning a call to the priesthood.



The Board of the Episcopal Chaplaincy

The Board of the Episcopal Chaplaincy is made up of alumni and friends of the Chaplaincy. They manage its financial affairs and help direct its mission. This year’s board includes:

  • Ms. J. Carey Bloomfield, President
  • Prof. Richard Thomas, Vice-President
  • Mr. Jeremy Siegfried, Treasurer
  • Ms. Alice Kenney, Clerk
  • Prof. John A.E. Pottow
  • Ms. McKenzie Bok
  • Ms. Mary Beth Clack
  • Mr. Gifford Combs
  • The Very Rev. Amy McCreath
  • The Rev. Joseph O. Robinson (ex officio)
  • The Rt. Rev. Alan M. Gates (ex officio)